Our existence

In this section, you will find information relating to our Governance, Strategy, Team and a Timeline of our History.

Work With Us

Premise of establishment

The establishment of the Oceania Regional Anti-Doping Organization (ORADO) is premised on the recognition of the following:


Sport is a critical component of the social, economic and politics development of Oceania region countries


Sport is effective and ethical when practiced free of drugs or doping


Spirit of fair play and mutual respect for everybody involved


The member countries of the Oceania region need to pool resources and expertise in order to play a critical role in combating the scourge of drugs and doping in sport.

Founding members and growth

The Oceania Regional Anti-Doping Organization (ORADO) was established in 2005. Our founding members were Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Samoa and Tonga, with Vanuatu and the Cook Islands following a year later in 2006. 

This initial membership has since grown to now 15 National Anti-Doping Organisations (NADOs) that we work with in the Pacific Islands. While Australia and New Zealand are members of the Oceania Continent geographically, and in the Olympic Movement sporting circle where we work intimately through our relationship with the Oceania National Olympic Committees (ONOC), the anti-doping organisations in these two countries are our key partners. These are Sport Integrity Australia and Drug-Free Sport New Zealand (DFSNZ).

Founding support

Initial technical assistance was provided by the Australian Sports Anti-Doping Authority (ASADA, now Sport Integrity Australia) and Drug Free Sport New Zealand (DFSNZ).

Fiji was the first country to establish a National Anti-Doping Organisation (NADO) in the form of the Fiji Sports Drug Agency (FSDA).

Inaugural Executive Board Meeting and Launch

We were established in October 2004 and formalised two years later in 2006.
We held our inaugural ORADO Board Meeting on 29 - 30 June 2006. This first meeting was attended by a Government and a National Olympic Committee (NOC) representative from each country; one representative from DFSNZ; one representative from ASADA; and two representatives from the global anti-doping body, WADA. 

ORADO was officially launched by Mr David Howman, then Director General of the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) during this inaugural Board Meeting.